last place you look

sometimes i lie awake at night and think of you. i remember everything, i remember your face and i remember that very last day and the words you spoke, your arms around me. and i miss you so much that it hurts. my stomach knots up and i pull the blankets close around me, curl into a fetal position, and cry. sometimes the tears don't come and i just lay there and ache from the inside out. i whisper prayers, i talk to God and ask Him to watch over you, i ask Him to hug you for me. is that possible? i don't know. i hope so.

thanksgiving is coming, then christmas, and it will be so different without you this year. sometimes i wonder how long it will be before i see you again. i wonder when it will be my time to go. even now it still does not seem real to me.

sometimes life flies by; other times it seems to pass so slowly.

last & next