truth dawning

the worry in your eyes spills out into this room of silence// risking your reputation just to hold me//and these languid arms are all scratched up// visible scars from an invisible battle// i'd drown these sorrows in this paper cup if only you'd let me// well it's not so easy to see what's true by the light from the bathroom door// staving my soul for something to hold on to// and hearing the cry of your whispered prayers// maybe it's not just your hands that are holding me// maybe it's not just your presence that makes this air breathable again// time after time rise and fall, fail, falling faster// succumb to exhaustion once more// i can't keep my eyes so void of innocence on yours// when what i need is further than i can reach// maybe// and turning i don't think you're the only One who's reaching// maybe// tonight i think you're a catalyst and maybe tonight it's not only you that i'm seeing

i could never thank you enough.

all my love

*bex

last & next