room 19

*COMMON SELF-DEFEATING BELIEFS*

1. emotional perfectionism: I should always feel happy, confident, and in control of my emotions.

2. performance perfectionism: I must never fail or make a mistake.

3. perceived perfectionism: People will not love me and accept me as a flawed and vulnerable human being.

4. fear of disapproval or criticism: I need everybody's approval to be worthwhile.

5. fear of rejection: If I'm not loved, then life is not worth living.

6. fear of being alone: If I'm alone, then I'm bound to feel miserable and unfulfilled.

7. fear of failure: My worthwhileness depends on my achievements (or my intelligence or status or attractiveness).

8. conflict phobia: People who love each other don't fight.

9. emotophobia: I should not feel angry, anxious, inadequate, jealous, or vulnerable.

10. entitlement: People should always be the way I expect them to be.

~~~~~

yeah, there's your share of therapy for the day. that cost me about $80 but you're getting it for free. good stuff, eh?

i'm moving forward...

[thanks to all of you who shared your thoughts on love with me. i appreciate it greatly.]

last & next